Currently Viewing Tag:

Book Review

Book Review

Book Review: I've Seen the End of You

An absolutely fascinating memoir of a neurosurgeon's search for answers about death and hope.

By

Anneliese Dalaba

March 17, 2022

Book Review

Book Review - Walking In My Shoes

I recently finished reading Elizabeth Mittlestaedt's inspiring story in Walking In My Shoes. In a small Hungarian village where her family had lost most of their possessions when a communist party took over their country after World War II, is the setting of her childhood. Her family of eleven lived in near poverty. But Elizabeth had dreams of achieving more and longed to pursue higher education to attain those goals, yet circumstances held her bound. The craving for freedom and a better life had gripped her, and wouldn't let go, so she took matters into her own hands, resulting in devastating consequences.

By

Anneliese Dalaba

November 25, 2021

Book Review

Heaven...Your Real Home From a Higher Perspective

I finished listening to the audiobook, Heaven...Your Real Home From a Higher Perspective, by Joni Earekson Tada last week. As I've mentioned before, since my husband passed away, I have found comfort in reading about heaven. It gives me a glimpse into what he must be experiencing already—and all that awaits me. The reality of heaven has become more real to me.

By

Anneliese Dalaba

July 25, 2021

Book Review

Book Review: 50 Days of Heaven

I just finished reading 50 Days of Heaven by Randy Alcorn. This book was given to me by my church after my husband passed away. It blessed me in the midst of many tearful days by giving me hope and reminding me that there is so much I have to look forward to. When I take my last breath, life here will end, but I will step into a new beginning that is beyond imagination.

By

Anneliese Dalaba

April 15, 2021

Book Review

Book Review: At Love's Command

I recently finished At Love's Command by Karen Witemeyer. I've read many of her books. Her writing and storytelling ability are phenomenal. This book does not disappoint. It's a Christian western romance. If you love this genre, you will not want to miss it. I listened to it on Audible, and the narrator did a fantastic job.

By

Anneliese Dalaba

February 14, 2021

Book Review

Book Review — Imagine Heaven

At the recent loss of my husband, a dear friend sent this book to me as a gift, Imagine Heaven, by John Burke. I can honestly say that it was one of the most helpful gifts I received. I'll tell you why...

By

Anneliese Dalaba

December 9, 2020

Book Review

Book Review—50 Days of Hope

If you or someone you love has received a cancer diagnosis, this is a book you may not want to pass up. 50 Days of Hope by Lynn Eib is a great way to begin your cancer journey.

By

Anneliese Dalaba

September 14, 2020

Book Review

Book Review: Honor's Wedding

When Honor is told by her parents that they will have to leave Hollybrook, the town her parents and she had grown up in, so her father can get a new job, Honor comes up with a plan. She knew what needed to be done so her parents wouldn't have to move away. She would marry Gabe Chupp. The fact that she doesn't love Gabe doesn't deter her from her plan.

By

Anneliese Dalaba

June 13, 2020

Book Review

Book Review: Meant for Her

This novel pulls you into the story right from the first sentence. Candi has just been rescued from a horrifying situation: kidnap, rape, as well as physical and emotional abuse. The book doesn’t go into every gory detail of the attack, but rather into the emotional turmoil Candi now finds herself in. The faithful support of a loving, older brother who steadfastly and patiently, without judgment, stands beside her and encourages her helps Candi to feel secure. But he can’t be with her all of the time. Through the friendship of a pastor’s wife and the help of a counselor, things Candi had suppressed come to light and allow her to begin to heal. 

By

Anneliese Dalaba

June 2, 2020

Book Review

Book Review: Where He Leads

After Ami's mother passed away, her wealthy father soon married a woman close to the age of his daughter. This woman wants Ami out of the way. So she influences her husband to marry his daughter off to a man Ami knows has a cruel heart. Ami's disturbing memories of him during their school days make it impossible for her to consider him as a spouse. But her father will only listen to his wife. Ami's mother had not come from wealth and had taught her daughter humility and that there are things more important in life than money. When Ami's father tells her of the arranged marriage he has planned for her, Ami becomes desperate. She decides to join a close friend of her deceased mother on a wagon train to Oregon. But Ami could not have imagined all the hardships and trials she would encounter.

By

Anneliese Dalaba

May 27, 2020

By

January 29, 2020